9 Best Pet Doors for Dogs and Cats (October 2026)
The best pet doors for dogs and cats include the SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap for selective cat entry, the PetSafe 1-Piece Sliding Glass Dog Door for sliding glass tracks, and the PetSafe Wall Entry Telescoping Pet Door for a standard-thickness wall.
On this page (5 sections)
The best pet door depends on where it will go: choose SureFlap for selective cat access, PetSafe's panel for a sliding glass door, or PetSafe's telescoping door for a wall. Measure your pet and the installation space before choosing a flap.
A dog door cut into a door, a tunnel through a wall and a panel in a patio track solve different problems. Decide where the opening belongs first, then compare access control, flap size and the space the installation will use.
For the basics, see our guide to choosing the right pet door. If you're set on a regular door flap, browse the door flap options, and for a wall installation, compare wall dog doors.
Our picks at a glance
-
1
-
2
Best for sliding glass tracksPetSafe 1-Piece Sliding Glass Dog Door, Large
8.9/10 our score
See it on Amazon -
3
Best for a standard-thickness wallPetSafe Wall Entry Telescoping Pet Door, Large
8.8/10 our score
See it on Amazon
- 4
Check itBaboni 3-Flap Plastic Dog Door, Large
Best for extra flap layers in a door - 5
Check itPetSafe Plastic Dog and Cat Door, X-Large
Best for a very large door opening - 6
Check itVEVOR Sliding Glass Dog Door, Large
Best for a sliding track with a lock - 7
Check itPetSafe Electronic Collar Key Pet Door, Large
Best for collar-key access control - 8
Check itPetSafe Freedom Aluminum Pet Door, Medium
Best for a medium pet and metal frame - 9
Check itCat Mate 360 Four-Way Locking Cat Flap
Best for a four-way cat flap
How we chose the best pet door for each location
We compared the installation style, opening dimensions and access features of 9 doors. Our score weighs specs and features against the needs of shoppers looking for a door for a specific location.
The best fit is the one that works with your pet's body and your home's opening. Weight can help narrow choices, but measure your pet's shoulder height and chest width against the flap opening before you buy.
A track panel avoids cutting into the sliding door frame, while a wall tunnel has to span the wall thickness. A standard door flap gives you more choice in frame materials and flap layers, but installation requires cutting.
For a cat that needs selective entry, compare the chip compatibility and opening size. You can also see our microchip cat door picks for more options.
| Product | Best for | Access | Flap opening | Installation | Our score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap | selective cat entry | Microchip selective entry | 4 3/4 x 5 5/8 in | Door, window or wall with suitable accessories | 9.1 |
| PetSafe 1-Piece Sliding Glass Dog Door, Large | sliding glass tracks | Closing panel and latch kit | 10 1/4 x 16 3/8 in | Sliding glass door track | 8.9 |
| PetSafe Wall Entry Telescoping Pet Door, Large | a standard-thickness wall | Closing panel | 10 1/4 x 16 1/4 in | Wall, 4 3/4–7 1/4 in thick | 8.8 |
| Baboni 3-Flap Plastic Dog Door, Large | extra flap layers in a door | Closing control not specified | 10 1/4 x 16 1/4 in | Door, 1 3/8–1 31/32 in thick | 8.7 |
| PetSafe Plastic Dog and Cat Door, X-Large | a very large door opening | Snap-on closing panel | 13 5/8 x 23 5/8 in | Wood, PVC, metal or paneled door | 8.5 |
| VEVOR Sliding Glass Dog Door, Large | a sliding track with a lock | Secure lock design | 10 1/4 x 16 1/4 in | Sliding glass door track | 8.3 |
| PetSafe Electronic Collar Key Pet Door, Large | collar-key access control | Electronic collar key | Not specified | Interior or exterior door; wall kit available separately | 8.2 |
| PetSafe Freedom Aluminum Pet Door, Medium | a medium pet and metal frame | Slide-in closing panel | 8 1/4 x 12 1/4 in | Interior or exterior door | 8.0 |
| Cat Mate 360 Four-Way Locking Cat Flap | a four-way cat flap | Four-way lock and compatible microchip | 5 3/4 x 5 3/4 in | Self-lining to 3 in thick | 7.7 |
The best pet doors by where they go
The location determines which products make sense: track panels fit sliding glass doors, telescoping tunnels fit walls, and standard flaps mount in regular doors. These picks are ordered by score, with a cat-specific option first for homes that need selective entry.
SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap: Best for selective cat entry
- Reads compatible implanted microchips
- Learns up to 32 identities
- Flap opening 4 3/4 x 5 5/8 in
- Uses 4 AA batteries
Selective entry suits a home where neighborhood cats should stay outside. Check the opening against your cat's size and confirm its chip type is compatible.
Pros
- Stores up to 32 identities
- No collar tag needed for a compatible microchip
- One-button programming
Cons
- Collar tags sold separately for pets without a microchip
- Batteries not included
The SureFlap Microchip Cat Flap is the top choice for a cat that should be able to enter while stray animals are kept outside. It reads a compatible implanted ID microchip, learns up to 32 identities and uses one-button programming.
Its opening measures 4 3/4 in high by 5 5/8 in wide. Measure your cat's height and width at the point it will pass through, and make sure the opening feels comfortable.
The flap works with 9-digit Avid Secure, 10-digit FDXA and 15-digit FDXB microchips. For a cat without a microchip, programmable collar tags are sold separately.
Four AA alkaline batteries power the flap, and a low-battery light flashes red when they need replacing. The product is described as having an estimated battery life of up to 12 months, depending on use.
This flap can be installed in doors, windows or walls with suitable accessories. Choose it when selective entry is the main need, and check chip compatibility before buying.
PetSafe 1-Piece Sliding Glass Dog Door, Large: Best for sliding glass tracks
- Slides into an existing track without cutting
- Adjusts from 75 7/8 to 80 11/16 in tall
- 10 1/4 x 16 3/8 in flap opening
- 13 1/2 in panel width
This assembled panel fits a sliding glass track without cutting the frame. Measure track height and account for the space the panel takes from the human doorway.
Pros
- No-cut installation
- Tempered glass and aluminum frame
- Includes closing panel and latch kit
Cons
- Uses 13 1/2 in of walk-through width
- Large flap is sized for pets up to 100 lb
The PetSafe 1-Piece Sliding Glass Dog Door is a strong fit when you want a no-cut panel in a sliding glass track. Its assembled glass panel adjusts from 75 7/8 to 80 11/16 in tall, so measure your track height before you choose it.
The large flap opening is 10 1/4 in wide by 16 3/8 in high. It's intended for medium-to-large dogs up to 100 lb, but PetSafe advises comparing shoulder height and chest width to the opening instead of relying on weight alone.
The panel is 13 1/2 in wide, which takes that much space from the walk-through opening for people. The frame is aluminum with tempered glass, a magnetic flap and a slide-in closing panel.
A latch kit lets you lock the human sliding door while the pet panel is in place. Choose it if a no-cut track installation fits your doorway and you can spare the panel width.
PetSafe Wall Entry Telescoping Pet Door, Large: Best for a standard-thickness wall
- Telescoping tunnel fits 4 3/4–7 1/4 in walls
- 10 1/4 x 16 1/4 in flap opening
- Double flap
- Closing panel included
The telescoping tunnel is made for wall mounting where a door installation won't work. Measure the wall thickness first and check whether an extension kit is needed.
Pros
- Telescoping tunnel included
- Double flap and closing panel
- Fits walls up to 7 1/4 in without an extension
Cons
- Thicker walls need a separately sold extension kit
- Wall installation requires cutting
The PetSafe Wall Entry Telescoping Pet Door is the wall pick for a tunnel that fits walls from 4 3/4 to 7 1/4 in thick. Measure the wall before cutting, since thicker walls need a compatible extension kit sold separately.
Its large flap opening measures 10 1/4 in wide by 16 1/4 in high, and the size is intended for dogs up to 100 lb. The double flap and slide-in closing panel add ways to close off the opening when needed.
The frame is plastic, and the telescoping tunnel is designed for interior or exterior walls. A cutting template and step-by-step instructions are included for a do-it-yourself installation.
This choice suits a home where a door-mounted flap isn't practical. For more wall options and material considerations, see our guide to wall dog doors for siding, stucco and brick.
Baboni 3-Flap Plastic Dog Door, Large: Best for extra flap layers in a door
- Three flaps, including an insulated middle flap
- 10 1/4 x 16 1/4 in opening
- Fits doors 1 3/8–1 31/32 in thick
- For pets up to 100 lb
Three flap layers, including an insulated middle flap, suit buyers who want extra layers in a standard door opening. Check the door thickness and cutout dimensions before installation.
Pros
- Three flaps
- Cutout template and instructions included
- Fits doors within the stated thickness range
Cons
- Requires cutting the door
- Large size is designed for pets up to 100 lb
The Baboni 3-Flap Plastic Dog Door fits a standard door when you want several flap layers. Its 10 1/4 by 16 1/4 in opening is designed for pets up to 100 lb.
The tunnel accommodates doors from 1 3/8 to 1 31/32 in thick. Its frame measures 14 1/4 in wide by 21 1/16 in high, and the cutout is 11 2/5 in wide by 19 3/8 in high, so compare those dimensions with the door before starting.
Baboni describes the setup as having two vinyl flaps with magnetic closure and one insulated middle flap. The package includes a cutout template and installation instructions.
Pick it when a layered flap door suits your entry and the door thickness falls within range. If you're comparing this style with another flap door, read our Baboni vs PetSafe comparison.
PetSafe Plastic Dog and Cat Door, X-Large: Best for a very large door opening
- 13 5/8 x 23 5/8 in flap opening
- For pets up to 220 lb
- Paintable plastic frame
- Fits doors 1/16–2 in thick
The extra-large opening accommodates bigger pets and a wider range of door thicknesses than the other door-mounted picks. Measure the pet and door before cutting.
Pros
- Largest stated flap opening in this group
- Closing panel included
- Frame can be painted
Cons
- Requires cutting the door
- Snap-on panel controls access when fitted
The PetSafe Plastic Dog and Cat Door in X-Large offers the biggest stated flap opening in this group: 13 5/8 in wide by 23 5/8 in high. It's designed for pets up to 220 lb, though your pet still needs to fit the opening comfortably.
This door fits interior or exterior wood, PVC, metal and paneled doors from 1/16 to 2 in thick. The plastic frame is paintable, so you can match it to the door.
A snap-on closing panel lets you limit pet access and help keep stray animals out. The kit includes a cutting template and instructions, but installation requires cutting the door.
Choose this model for a very large opening and broad door-thickness range. Measure the cutout and flap against the door and your pet before you commit.
VEVOR Sliding Glass Dog Door, Large: Best for a sliding track with a lock
- Adjusts from 75 7/8–80 11/16 in tall
- 10 1/4 x 16 1/4 in flap opening
- Aluminum frame and tempered glass
- Secure locking design
This track-mounted panel offers a lock and adjustable height for a non-permanent installation. Confirm your track height and available doorway clearance before choosing it.
Pros
- Fits the stated adjustable height range
- No tools needed for installation
- Locking design
Cons
- Panel width and walk-through clearance aren't specified here
- The stated flap size is described for medium pets
The VEVOR Sliding Glass Dog Door is another track-mounted option, with a height range of 75 7/8 to 80 11/16 in. It fits a sliding track without tools and has a locking design for limiting access.
Its flap measures 10 1/4 in wide by 16 1/4 in high. The product description calls the flap suitable for small or medium pets, so confirm that opening against your dog's size even though the model name says Large.
The frame is aluminum with tempered glass, and the flap has a metal cover and hinge structure. The adjustable height overlaps the stated range for the PetSafe panel above, so compare other fit details and the clearance you need.
Choose VEVOR when an adjustable track panel and lock matter to you. Before ordering, confirm the exact panel width and how much walk-through space remains.
PetSafe Electronic Collar Key Pet Door, Large: Best for collar-key access control
- Selective entry, exit and auto-lock options
- Works with a waterproof collar key
- Programs up to 5 keys
- Battery powered
A collar key lets the door limit access to pets wearing a programmed key. It suits households that want electronic control and can manage batteries and collar hardware.
Pros
- Programs up to 5 keys
- Selective entry, exit and auto-lock settings
- Wall installation option
Cons
- Keys must be worn on collars
- Wall install kit sold separately
The PetSafe Electronic Collar Key Pet Door suits homes that want access tied to a pet's collar key. You can program selective entry, exit and auto-lock options, with up to 5 keys for multiple pets.
The door is designed for installation in an interior or exterior door. A wall install kit is available separately, though the flap opening dimensions aren't specified here, so confirm the size and fit before choosing it.
The door runs on 4 D-cell batteries, which aren't included. The waterproof electronic key needs to be worn on your pet's collar to trigger the door.
Choose this option when electronic access control fits your routine and your pets tolerate collar keys. It's a different setup from a microchip flap, such as the SureFlap cat door, which reads a compatible implanted chip.
PetSafe Freedom Aluminum Pet Door, Medium: Best for a medium pet and metal frame
- 8 1/4 x 12 1/4 in flap opening
- For pets up to 40 lb
- Aluminum frame
- Fits doors 3/8–2 in thick
The medium opening and aluminum frame fit a smaller door-mounted setup. Compare the flap with your pet's shoulder height and chest width, not weight alone.
Pros
- Reinforced aluminum corners
- Closing panel included
- Fits several door materials
Cons
- Medium size is for pets up to 40 lb
- Requires cutting the door
The PetSafe Freedom Aluminum Pet Door in Medium fits a smaller dog or cat with an 8 1/4 by 12 1/4 in flap opening. It's designed for pets up to 40 lb, so compare the opening with your pet's body rather than using the weight limit alone.
The aluminum frame has reinforced corners, and the flexible tinted flap has a slide-in closing panel. It fits interior or exterior doors from 3/8 to 2 in thick.
The installation kit includes a cutting template, instructions and hardware. Choose it for a medium-size door flap with an aluminum frame, and plan for a cut in the door.
Cat Mate 360 Four-Way Locking Cat Flap: Best for a four-way cat flap
- Four-way lock
- 5 3/4 x 5 3/4 in flap opening
- Self-lines to 3 in thickness
- Compatible microchip recognition
A four-way lock gives you several manual access settings, while chip recognition can limit entry to a compatible cat. Check chip compatibility, especially if your cat has a 10-digit chip.
Pros
- Four-way manual lock
- No collar key needed for a compatible chip
- Fits openings up to 3 in thick
Cons
- Not compatible with 10-digit microchips or chips containing letters
- Small flap opening
The Cat Mate 360 Four-Way Locking Cat Flap is a compact cat door with a 5 3/4 in square opening. Its four-way lock lets you set the flap's access direction, and its self-lining design fits openings up to 3 in thick.
The microchip recognition feature can provide selective access without a collar key, but it isn't compatible with 10-digit microchips or chips containing letters. Check your cat's chip type before choosing this flap.
The overall size is 7 3/4 in wide by 9 11/16 in high. The cutout is 6 7/8 in wide by 7 3/4 in high, which gives you a separate measurement to plan for installation.
Pick it when you want a compact flap with four-way locking and compatible-chip access. If chip access is your main concern, compare it with our SureFlap vs Cat Mate guide.
Which pet door location should you choose?
A sliding glass panel works when you want to avoid cutting into a frame and can give up some walk-through width. For a wall opening, choose a tunnel that matches the wall thickness and plan for a cut.
For a regular door, match the flap opening to your pet and check the door's material and thickness. Choose a microchip or collar-key model when controlling which pets can enter matters, and confirm the access method fits your household.
Start with the pet door selection guide if you still need to choose an installation type. For a sliding glass doorway, our guide to sliding glass dog door inserts covers the track-panel route.
What should you measure before choosing a pet door?
Measure your pet's shoulder height and chest width, then compare those measurements with the flap opening. Also check the door or wall thickness, the cutout dimensions, and the available space around the entry.
For a sliding glass panel, measure the track height and remaining walk-through width. For a wall tunnel, measure the wall thickness at the planned opening and check whether the tunnel or an extension can span it.
Best pet door verdict
Choose the SureFlap if your cat needs selective entry, the PetSafe 1-Piece for a no-cut sliding track panel, or the PetSafe Wall Entry model when a wall tunnel suits the home. For a regular door, compare flap size and thickness fit first, then decide whether layered flaps or access controls matter most.
Our top 3 picks at a glance
-
1
-
2
Best for sliding glass tracksPetSafe 1-Piece Sliding Glass Dog Door, Large
8.9/10 our score
See it on Amazon -
3
Best for a standard-thickness wallPetSafe Wall Entry Telescoping Pet Door, Large
8.8/10 our score
See it on Amazon
Frequently asked questions
How do I choose the best pet door for my home?
Start with the installation location: a sliding glass track, a wall, a regular door, or a cat-only entry. Then measure your pet's shoulder height and chest width against the flap opening, and check the frame or wall dimensions before buying.
For electronic access, confirm that the door's key or microchip system fits your pets.
Are sliding glass pet doors permanent?
Track-mounted panels such as the PetSafe 1-Piece slide into an existing sliding door track without cutting the frame. The panel can be temporary or permanent, and its width reduces the walk-through opening for people.
Measure the track height and remaining doorway space before choosing an insert.
Can a pet door go through a wall?
Yes. A wall door uses a tunnel to span the wall thickness, so measure that thickness before selecting a model.
The PetSafe telescoping model fits walls 4 3/4–7 1/4 in thick, with a separate extension kit for thicker walls.
Wall installation involves cutting an opening, so confirm the location and construction first.
Do microchip cat doors keep other cats out?
A selective-entry microchip door can open for a recognized cat and help prevent unfamiliar animals from entering. Compatibility depends on the chip type, so check your cat's chip number with a veterinarian or shelter if you're unsure.
A microchip flap controls entry; it doesn't identify every animal outside.
About this guide: Our look at pet doors for dogs and cats draws on maker specs, materials and what owners report. See how we research.



